2018 is HERE with  Federal, State and Local Offices up for Election!!

The following offices are up for election in 2018 and all are currently held by Republicans.   Summit County is seeking candidates to run for each of these offices.   If you are interested in serving your County and State – we want to hear from you!


Congressional District 1  – Incumbent House Representative Rob Bishop(R)


Utah House District 53 – Incumbent UT Rep Logan Wilde (R)

Utah House District 54 – Incumbent UT Rep Tim Quinn (R)

Utah House District 28 – Incumbent UT Rep Brian King (D)

Utah Senate District 26 – Incumbent UT Sen Kevin Van Tassell will not be seeking re-election


Summit County Attorney – Incumbent Margaret Olson (D)

Summit County Auditor – Incumbent Michael Howard (D)

Summit County Council – 2 seats are up for election – Incumbents Chris Robinson (D) & Glenn Wright (D)

Summit County Sheriff – Incumbent Justin Martinez (D)

Election Process

March 20, 2018 – Summit County Precinct Caucuses

Summit County holds caucuses in 3 locations so that our county voters can:

  • Chooose Precinct Chairs to organize voters and volunteers, communicate issues, and support candidates in their neighborhoods.
  • Choose Delegates from each Precinct to represent voters at the County and State Democratic conventions

Click here to see a description of precinct and delegate responsibilities. Precinct Chair & Delegate Resp Jan2018

Caucuses will be held at 6:00pm at:  Ecker Hill Middle School, South Summit High School and North Summit High School.

March 29 2018- Summit County Convention

Summit County Democrats meet on March 29 at the Park City High School to hear from Democratic candidates for Federal and State offices.  The County Delegates also vote to select Summit County  candidates for County Council, County Attorney, County Sheriff, and County Auditor.

April 28- Utah State Democratic Convention

Our State Delegates will meet at the Salt Palace to choose:

  • Delegates to represent Utah at the National Democratic Convention
  • Democratic candidates for State and Federal Offices in Utah.

June 26- Utah State Primary

All registered voters in Summit County are invited to participate in the Democratic Party Primary on June 26, 2018.   Voters will choose the Democratic candidates for US Congressional District 1, and Utah Senate District 26.    All registered Democrats will receive a ballot by mail after June 5.   Unaffiliated voters, or those affiliated with another Utah political party, must request a ballot from the Summit County clerk’s office or in person on election day.   Polling locations include: Sheldon Richins Building (Kimball Junction), Marsac Municipal Building (Park City), Kamas Municipal Building, Coalville Courthouse.

November 6, 2018 – ELECTION DAY